Congress Center Messe Frankfurt
Ludwig-Erhard-Anlage 1
60327 Frankfurt am Main

© Messe Frankfurt

© Messe Frankfurt

Frankfurt am Main is – when comparing exhibition space – the second largest fair site of the world after Hanover.

Going back to the Middle Ages, Frankfurt am Main has been one of the most important locations for trade fairs in Europe. Thus the Frankfurt Book Fair arose in the year 1458 and justified Frankfurt’s reputation as an exhibition centre. The actual Messe Frankfurt was founded in the year 1907 by the city of Frankfurt after centuries of turbulent ups and downs.

The foundation stone of today’s Messe Frankfurt was laid during the construction of the “Festhalle” (festival hall). It is the historical starting point for the trade fair business of the modern era. Its classical appearance gives a special charm to the modern architectural ensemble of the exhibition grounds in Frankfurt. Further halls and buildings followed in due time.

Internationally well-known architects Helmut Jahn, Oswald M. Ungers, Nicholas Grimshaw, Rainer Hascher and Sebastian Jehle provided the unmistakable face of the Frankfurt exhibition grounds we know today. In the course of time the exhibition grounds have become a “town within a town”. Different architectural directions such as Art Nouveau, Bauhaus and Postmodernism are at work in today’s artistic ensemble.

Congress Center Messe Frankfurt
Ludwig-Erhard-Anlage 1
60327 Frankfurt am Main

© Messe Frankfurt

© Messe Frankfurt

Frankfurt am Main ist – gemessen an der Ausstellungsfläche – nach Hannover der zweitgrößte Messeplatz der Welt.

Bereits seit dem Mittelalter ist Frankfurt (Main) einer der wichtigsten Messeorte Europas. So entstand die Frankfurter Buchmesse bereits im Jahr 1458 und begründete Frankfurts Ruf als Messestadt. Nach turbulenten Jahrhunderten des Auf- und Abschwungs wurde die Messe, wie sie heute existiert im Jahr 1907 von der Stadt Frankfurt und Frankfurter Bürgern als Ausstellungs- und Festhallengesellschaft mbH gegründet.

Der Grundstein der heutigen Messelandschaft wurde mit dem Bau der Festhalle gelegt. Sie ist der historische Ausgangspunkt für das Messewesen der Neuzeit. Ihre klassizistische Hülle verleiht dem modernen architektonischen Ensemble des Messegeländes in Frankfurt einen besonderen Charme. Im Laufe der Zeit folgten weitere Hallen und Gebäude.

International bekannte Architekten wie Helmut Jahn, Oswald M. Ungers, Nicholas Grimshaw oder Rainer Hascher und Sebastian Jehle prägen das Gesicht der Messe und verleihen dem Frankfurter Messegelände heute sein unverwechselbares Gesicht. Im Laufe der Zeit ist aus dem Messegelände eine „Stadt in der Stadt“ geworden. Verschiedene architektonische Richtungen wie Jugendstil, Bauhaus und Postmoderne ergeben im heutigen Ensemble ein Gesamtkunstwerk